Can you ring back tomorrow?

Here is one to make you smile. I needed to move some money electronically to meet a commitment. The window of opportunity to do this was limited. All was going well until an error message appeared. I could try again later or call an 0845 number. Deciding to take the bull by the horns I rang the number, after the usual IVR sequence and trash music playing for a few minutes whilst I was reminded how important my call was to them I was answered.

The chap took me around a few loops trying and retrying the steps that had already failed, no doubt in accordance with the script, but the same message came back each time.  He made a polite exit for a short while to get some advice. More music and more waiting. He came back and got me to try the routine one more time. Playing along I dutifully went through the process again. Again nothing happened. So he made his excuses and disappeared again. This time it seemed like ages. Half a CD worth, or at least it felt like it.

Great news he came back on the line full of apologies about the delay. I waited expectantly.  He had talked to the department that could help us. Good news I thought! Alas they had just closed and although they knew what to do they could not help me because it was home time. The options available –  to try again later, or call them back in the morning and start all over again. I asked if there was a special number I could call to get the advice I needed. But no came the reply just try us again on the 0845 number.

No real surprise in todays world of call centres and IVR. The resolution is simple. Train your call handlers against the demands that customers most frequently have and give them latitude in the IT system to do what is necessary to sort the problem out. In the case of expert help have that expertise available close at hand for the caller handler  so that they can get help as and when they need it. Not wait in a call queue like everyone else to get help. Finally that help needs to be on hand for all the hours that the call centre is open. I thought clocking off at home time was reserved for old fashioned manufacturing plants not call centres.

So lost time for me. Lots of rework and waste in the financial services organisation. But all targets met for the day and everyone is happy. Except me as the customer. A crazy world!

Please let me know what do you think?

