An very interesting insight into operational life on the front line, and the impact that current management thinking has upon all concerned in the blog.

Mental Health Cop

Two things happened to me recently to cause my head a brief period of cognitive dissonance as I unwound from my LATE shift last night.  I recently went to work to find a person in the cells who had not long been arrested under section 136 of the Mental Health Act.  I noticed when I got home from work yesterday, a Twitter remark from an A&E Consultant questioning why he and his staff should have to put with aggressive behaviour from the public and being shouted at?

These two things got me thinking –

EMERGENCY MENTAL HEALTH CARE

The person detained under s136 had been removed to the cells because the Place of Safety in the area concerned had been telephoned by the police control room after arrest to notify them that officers would be heading towards them with a detainee and were asked, “Have they been violent?”  In fairness…

View original post 1,292 more words

Please let me know what do you think?

